Vintage pink and blue

My vintage crochet in fact; I discovered these squares in a box last week when I was having a tidy up. I must have made them when I first started crocheting, about 5 years ago. Definitely during my purple/pink period!

image

I think they look pretty good for a novice – I have an idea for a way to use them, better than putting them back into that box and forgetting them again.

i also found a very wonky piece of raspberry pink star stitch crochet, meant if I remember rightly, to be a cushion, but I obviously went wrong somewhere and it was more of a diamond than a square!

image

The star stitch pattern looks lovely but even if I blocked the piece I don’t think it’s useable, so I decided the best thing was to rip it out and start again. I’ve used this lovely wool and silk blend yarn for lots of things before, it’s a dream to work with. It makes beautiful roses, like the one at the front, with its pink sisters.

image

It was interesting looking at my first crochet makings. They make me realise I wasn’t so bad after all, but, delightful as pink and purple are, I have become more adventurous with colour now!

Leave a Reply

