Poppies

Mr Lurgy visited my house last week and I had to down tools for a bit and take to my sick bed. Not good, and I won’t dwell on that – I’ll move on swiftly to my post- illness crochet recuperation. As any crochet lover will know, it does work a treat when one is not firing on all cylinders; calming and soothing, stress relieving and relaxing; last week, I  found it to be all these things. I managed to finish a WIP I have been making off and on for a while, a cushion cover using the African flower pattern in a version which ends up as a square. I used red for the petals edged with grey with a black centre, so the flowers looked like poppies, and then finished the squares off with a lovely soft cream yarn.  I made 9 of these squares for the front and then decided on a granny square in all of these colours plus a light grey for the back. A button fastening using large white and red buttons for a vintage look, and voila! Here’s a collage with views of all of the afore-mentioned for you to enjoy!

Image

I’m delighted with how it has turned out – I think the African flower pattern is so versatile and can look so different depending on the colours you use. These lovely poppies will keep me going till some real ones grow in the garden.

image

3 thoughts on “Poppies

  1. Shelagh August 14, 2014 / 6:54 am

    This is lovely. My mum is mad about poppies and I’ve been looking for something I could make for her. This would be perfect 🙂 Can you remember any details of the wool you used?

    Like

    • purpleshed August 16, 2014 / 7:30 pm

      Thanks 🙂 I used a mixture of yarn, the red is an acrylic and wool mix and all the other colours are lambs wool which I bought from EBay from a seller in the north of Scotland, Kingcraig Fabrics. The pattern is lovely, I have tried it with umpteen different combinations and it looks wonderful whatever colours you may use. I can’t remember where I found it but if you google it, I’m sure you’ll find it. Hope that’s helpful.

      Like

Leave a Reply

